The Convention
closed 9-2-2013.
Membership is closed.
Find us on Facebook
Follow Us on Twitter
Watch Us on Youtube


  • Aug 24, 2013 - added a new page with maps and navigation information for the convention site.
  • Aug 23, 2013 - expanded the travel and parking pages.
  • Aug 22, 2013 - you can now access program and other convention information from our mobile applications.
  • Aug 21, 2013 - Press Release #32: LoneStarCon 3 Thanks Publishers for Supporting Public Libraries in San Antonio.
  • Aug 20, 2013 - our interactive program guide is now online, with details of all 945 program items!
  • Aug 20, 2013 - the Pocket Program can now be downloaded in PDF format from the publications page.
  • Aug 20, 2013 - Press Release #31: LoneStarCon 3 Partners with Ustream to Broadcast 2013 Hugo Award Ceremony.
  • Aug 19, 2013 - our Restaurant Guide can now be downloaded from the publications page.
  • Aug 13, 2013 - the overall convention schedule is now available including service hours and program highlights.
  • Aug 12, 2013 - Progress Report 5 is now available.
  • Aug 12, 2013 - there will be a ghost walking tour of San Antonio on the evening of Thursday, August 29.
  • Aug 12, 2013 - our animation program will be showing a wide range of anime and cartoons.
  • Aug 8, 2013 - published initial agenda and materials for the WSFS Business Meeting.
  • Aug 7, 2013 - Press Release #29: LoneStarCon 3 to Feature Author Jay Lake with Film Premiere and Special Exhibit.
  • Aug 1, 2013 - every day is special with our Theme Days in the Exhibit Hall.
  • Aug 1, 2013 - John Hertz will be leading book discussion groups on The Glass Bead Game, Vintage Season, and The Dying Earth. Read them, and then join in!
Hugo Awards Nomination Ballot - Instructions

Please Read These Instructions Carefully Before Casting Your Ballot

Eligibility to Nominate

You may nominate for the 2013 Hugo Awards and John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer if, on or before January 31, 2013, 11:59 p.m. EST:

You are an Attending, Young Adult or Supporting Member of LoneStarCon 3 (the 2013 World Science Fiction Convention);
or you were an Attending, Young Adult or Supporting Member of Chicon 7 (the 2012 World Science Fiction Convention);
or you are an Attending, Young Adult or Supporting Member of Loncon 3 (the 2014 World Science Fiction Convention).

Deadline. All ballots must be received prior to March 10, 2013, 11:59 p.m. EDT. Please mail as early as possible to ensure that your ballot will be counted. Paper ballots should be mailed to:

Hugo Nominations, c/o Todd Dashoff,
P.O. Box 310,
Huntingdon Valley, PA 19006

Taping the ballot shut is permissible in U.S. domestic mail; however, we recommend mailing your ballot in an envelope. Ballots mailed outside the U.S. or with payments enclosed must be in an envelope.

How to Nominate by Mail or Online

Please fill in the eligibility section. Do not forget to sign the ballot - we will not count unsigned ballots.

  • You may nominate up to five persons or works in each category. However, you are permitted (and even encouraged) to make fewer nominations or none at all if you are not familiar with the works that fall into that category. The nominations are equally weighted: the order in which you list them has no effect on the outcome.
  • "No Award" will appear automatically in every category on the final ballot - there is no need to include that choice on the nomination form.
  • If your nominee is not well known, please provide a source where his or her 2012 work in that category may be found. This information makes identifying the work you intend to nominate easier for us.
  • Please type or print clearly. We cannot count illegible ballots.
  • Please note that items may be relocated to a different category by the Hugo Awards Administrator if they are within 20% if the category boundary (such as in the case of Novel/Novella, Novella/Novelette, Novelette/Short Story, and Dramatic Presentation, Long Form/Short Form).
  • Online nominations will be available via the LoneStarCon 3 website. You will need your PIN to nominate via the web. PINs will be emailed to members, are included on the mailing label of your Progress Report, or you may e-mail to request a PIN.

The final Hugo Ballot containing the nominees in each category that received the most nominations will be distributed by LoneStarCon 3 in April/May 2013. Only members of LoneStarCon 3 (including those who join after January 31, 2013) will be eligible to vote on the final ballot. If you have any questions, feel free to pass them on to us at


Works published in 2012 for the first time anywhere or for the first time in English are eligible for the Hugo Awards being awarded in 2013. Books are considered to have been published on the publication date, which usually appears with the copyright information on the back of the title page. If there is no stated publication date, the copyright date will be used instead. A dated periodical is considered to have been published on the cover date, regardless of when it was placed on sale or copyrighted. Serialized stories or dramatic presentations are eligible in the year in which the last installment appears.

Extended eligibility for non-US published works: The 2012 WSFS Business Meeting, as authorized by section 3.2.3 of the WSFS Constitution, passed a resolution providing that works originally published outside the United States prior to 2012 but first published in the United States of America in 2012 shall be eligible for the 2012 Hugo Awards unless they have already appeared on a final Hugo Award ballot.

Other eligibility rules are included with the specific categories. The full rules for the Hugo Awards are contained in the WSFS Constitution.


The LoneStarCon 3 Committee has irrevocably delegated all Hugo Administration authority to a subcommittee. Therefore, only Todd Dashoff, Saul Jaffe, Steven Staton, Ben Yalow and Vince Docherty are ineligible for Hugo Awards.


Reproduction and distribution of the printed ballot form is permitted and encouraged, provided that it is reproduced verbatim (including voting instructions), with no additional material other than the name of the person or publication responsible for the reproduction.